Healthy Option

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Does glutinous rice actually contain gluten?

Glutinous rice is gluten-free. The misleading name simply comes from the fact that glutinous rice, when cooked, becomes sticky-glue-like, hence the name Gluetenous Rice.

Why is it so sticky? According to an article from wikipedia, it all comes down to starch content: the starch in rice has two components, amylose and amylopectin. Medium and long-grain rices have a higher proportion of amylose, whereas the starch in short-grain glutinous rice is almost all amylopectin, contributing to its moist and stickier texture.

 

So for those of you avoiding gluten, you can happily eat Chef Impling’s Latik without worrying.

 

Other Sticky Rice Meals

 

Try Chef Impling’s Ibos (sticky rice).